Book Review/ Before I Go To Sleep

before-i-go-to-sleep-sj-watson

Title:               Before I Go To Sleep

Author:           S. J. Watson

Published:      2011

Genres:           Thriller, Suspense

Rate:               4/5 (my personal opinion)

Summary:

Christine Lucas, married and in her forties, suffers from a terrible “accident” years ago, leaves her unable to retain new memories. She wakes up every morning thinking she is still in her twenties and that she got a whole lifetime to live. And, she got only her husband to trust. But what if the only person she knows and trust is not trustworthy?

 

On my flight to the States couple of months ago, I watched the trailer of the movie Before I Go To Sleep, however, it didn’t attract me to watch it (or maybe I was just in the mood of Indian movies at that time). And, I didn’t know the movie was based on a novel. A week later, I went to Barnes and Nobel. And the first book I saw was Before I Go To Sleep. It looked interesting and when I read the first page, I just couldn’t stop, so I had to buy it.

Once I started reading, I couldn’t put the book down. The story line kept me captivated and I kept on guessing on what will happen next. I got attached to the main character, Christine Lucas and I was engaged with her life as if I was living with her. It’s my first time reading this kind of books. And, I enjoyed reading it. The story will keep you fascinated and tied up till the last sentence, only if you are into thriller books.

 

From the book:

“I cannot imagine how I will cope when I discover that my life is behind me, has already happened, and I have nothing to show for it. No treasure house of collection, no wealth of experience, no accumulated wisdom to pass on. What are we, if not an accumulation of our memories?”

 

Happy reading …

Leave a Reply

